(218) 732-0121 603 North Central Ave, Suite 100. Park Rapids, MN 56470


What is a Soil and Water Conservation District?

Classified under MN State Statute Chapter 103C, soil and water conservation districts are governmental and political subdivisions of the state. Their broad charge is to protect public health, safety, and welfare through soil and water conservation. Functions include leadership, coordination and services.

A SWCD is a legal body accountable to the public through general elections. Five supervisors are elected to their position, govern the SWCDs and work in cooperation with state and federal conservation agencies. The SWCD is charged with encouraging local landowners to conserve the soil and water resources by implementing conservation practices that reduce or prevent erosion, sedimentation, siltation and agriculturally-related pollution in order to preserve our natural resources, ensure continued soil productivity, control floods, preserve wildlife, protect the tax base and protect public lands.

SWCDs have a sound accounting system and audit process. *Grantors such as the Board of Water and Soil Resources (BWSR) audit programs and projects. SWCDs were created by the people and rely on public funds, including those from counties, state and local sources. District boards are capable of setting priorities as seen through their development of annual work plans that set policy direction for their staff.

Board of Supervisors

Don Rettinger

District 1

Marcel Noyes

District 2

Heidi Anderson-Thomas

District 3

Don Sells

District 4

Lynn Goodrich

District 5

Nomination Districts

  • District 1:  Fern, Rockwood, Helga, Lake Hattie, Schoolcraft, Lake Alice, and Lake George
  • District 2:  Farden, Guthrie, Hart Lake, Hendrickson, Lakeport, and Steamboat
  • District 3:  Clover, Clay, Thorpe, Arago, Lake Emma, Mantrap, and Akeley
  • District 4:  Todd, Straight River, Henrietta and Hubbard west from County 11
  • District 5:  Nevis, White Oak, Crow Wing, Badoura, Henrietta and Hubbard east from County 11

Contact your District Supervisor

  • District 1:  Don Rettinger (218) 854-7306 or E-Mail
  • District 2:  Marcel Noyes (218) 407-3425 or E-Mail
  • District 3:  Heidi Anderson-Thomas (772) 342-1662 or E-Mail
  • District 4:  Don Sells (218) 732-5910 or E-Mail
  • District 5:  Lynn Goodrich (218) 652-3130 or E-Mail

SWCD  Staff

Crystal Mathisrud
District Manager

E-Mail Crystal
(218) 732-0121 ext. 105

Brandon Spain-Brist
Forest Resource Technician

E-Mail Brandon
(218) 252-6963

Jake Shaughnessy
Water Quality Resource Technician

E-Mail Jake
(218) 252-5391

Rachel Rudquist
Administrative and Bookkeeping Assistant

E-Mail Rachel
(218) 732-0121 ext. 105

Natural Resource Conservation Service (NRCS) Staff

Alicia Laturnus & Dan Pazdernik
Soil Conservation Technician - District Conservationist

You are donating to : Greennature Foundation

How much would you like to donate?
$10 $20 $30
Would you like to make regular donations? I would like to make donation(s)
How many times would you like this to recur? (including this payment) *
Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Additional Note